Showing Collections: 1 - 4 of 4
Lucian W. Alexander Diary
Collection
Identifier: SC 01029
Scope and Contents
Diary, 1942-1943, of Corporal Lucian W. Alexander while he was stationed in India during World War II. Alexander was member of the 679th Signal Corps of the United States Army. The diary contains 46 handwritten pages, 10 of those are itinerary pages of places he visited, 8 pages contain more descriptive entries, and last section of the diary contains 28 pages of autographs and addresses.
Dates:
1942-1943
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Radha Mohan Lal B.A. Diaries
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.617
Scope and Contents
The diaries were written between 1915-1922 by Munshi Radha Mohan Lal B.A., a Nazim, a city magistrate in the Princely State of Jaipur, today's state of Rajasthan in northwestern India. There are four diaries in Box 1, each spanning one year, and two short ones in Box 2. They are in good condition and all entries are legible. They are written in English, with very few words, phrases, dates, or notes written in Hindi and Urdu. The latter was one of the co-official languages in the general...
Dates:
1915-1922
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Dennis Loy Papers, 1952-1993
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2014.023
Scope and Contents
This collection contains letters, diaries, publications and other material collected by Dennis Loy, a gay artist who exhibited works in the Chicagoland area and New York City. Most of the letters were written to Loy by his cousin, American writer and journalist P.J. O'Rourke, and cover such topics as poetry, politics, drugs, art, and gay culture in the 1980s. In one of his diaries, Loy wrote about his trip to India in 1975 and describes the landscape and culture. The other diary is a travel...
Dates:
1952-1993 and undated
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Travel Diary
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Tr9
Scope and Contents
Diary, circa 1830-1860, of an unidentified traveler in India, Egypt, Turkey, and Greece.
Dates:
circa 1830-1860
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center